The Importance of Blogging

Online blogs have turned to be a known in both personal and professional uses.

At the start of my winter term, one of our assignments was to complete 14 blogs in the span of 10 weeks.  I thought to myself, where do I even start?  I havent been the type to write or even read blogs.  Over the last 7 weeks, I have grown accustom to the idea of blogging.  I am not sure how many people out there is the online world actually read what I write, but it feels nice to be able to sit down and create something from nothing.

I came across this online blog called GROW; Marketing, Social Media, Humanity explaining that your personal blog might actually help you get a job.  It is recommend in almost any career.  The article explains 7 different reasons why people should have a blog.

1. Show what you’re made of.   During any interview, telling can be more difficult.  With a blog, you can visually show an employer what you are explaining to them.

2. Build a professional network. Online blogging allows people to build connections in an online community. It allows you to network with people and gain followers.

3. Engaging versus advertising.  “No matter how creative you get, a resume is still an advertisement.”  This point made by the author.  I see this to be a true fact.  A blog can allow employers to read stories that may be compelling to your career field and gain further interest.

4. Point of differentiation. Employers want to see you standout in the spotlight.  Show them what you can do by being able to create content.

5. Sharpen your professional skills.  Know your subject and know what you what to say.  Define your message!

6. Expand your reach. Your blog is your personal brand.  Building yourself as a brand and allowing people the ability to communicate with you is a huge success.  LinkedIn is a great social media tool because it allows you the ability to present you.

7. Extend the interview. “Here is the last thing you say to your interviewer: “I’ve enjoyed our time together but there is so much more I could tell you about my abilities. I hope you’ll take a look at my blog (the web address is on my resume) so you can see for yourself the way I think about things.”  And you know what? They’ll do it.  You have just extended your interview by another 15-30 minutes and that may make all the difference!” the author makes this point clear and simple.  I couldn’t of said it better myself.

This is just another reason why social media is useful in the professional world.  A blog builds your personal PR as a brand and a person.  Define your message.  Define what you can do. Define what you are.
One thought on “The Importance of Blogging

  1. Kelli says:

    Great content, Nick. Your blog looks great. And it seems you’re pretty well on track in terms of the number of posts. Just three or four more (if my count is right) by the end of next week. Easy breezy!

Leave a Reply

